With the development of tourism, more and more cheap and discount fights are made available to holidaymakers. Some environmental groups claim that governments should tax air traffic more because its growth has a tremendous impact on the environment.

With the transportation revolution, travelling abroad is becoming familiar to tourists, which induces the airlines to launch discounted tickets to attract customers. However, some environmentalists are convinced that air traffic poses a threat to the environment. Thus, taxes should be imposed on tickets. Other hold an opposing opinion that the policy is not efficacious enough and should not be enforced. My stance is in line with the latter one as the following paragraphs show. Firstly, the imposition of taxes will certainly raise the prices of tickets as the airlines consider the overall cost. As a result, customers have no choice but to pay for the added taxes since there are few alternatives of transport to go abroad. Moreover, the increasing price is a financial burden on most families and individuals. As some of them perceive travelling overseas a reward for their hard-working, additional taxes make it more difficult for them to afford the pricey tickets, depriving them of the possibility to travel abroad. Second, levying taxes on tickets is not directly related to conserving the environment. It is also in dispute whether governments will distribute money from the taxes to environmental protection. Worse yet, corruption may happen and throw into question the original intention of the taxation. Therefore, from my perspective, other solutions can be implemented to improve our surroundings more effectively, for instance, renovating the old aeroplanes to avoid emitting an excessive amount of gases which are harmful to the air quality or research on alternative energy resources which are more environmentally friendly. In either case, environmental problems can be solved rather than imposing taxes. To sum up, the impact on the environment brought by the aeroplanes cannot be neglected. However, given the above factors, imposing taxes might not be the best approach.