With more and more people communicating via computers and mobile telephones there is a real danger that we are losing the ability to communicate with others face to face.

Communication has always been an integral part of people’s lives. Throughout the centuries it was being reshaped, transformed but still present. Although nowadays one can see an absurd but simultaneously irreversible trend: the new form of communication seems to be decreasing its importance. People are truly losing the ability to interact with each other in real life. This essay will provide evidence proving the trend. Means of communication have been evolving since the creation of humanity: first it was paintings, later words and speaking, then letters and now its social media interactions. The first obvious change is a very high dependance of people on their smartphones and computers, which have evidently become our best friends. The World Bank (statistics organization) published disturbing data earlier this year, proving that online presence of an average teenager is about 6 hours per day, which is 70% higher than the same indicator 5 years ago. Real-life communication is being substituted by e-relationships, were people use not words to describe their feelings and thoughts, but emojis. As a consequence, the level of literacy and eloquence among young people is falling dramatically. Comparing one behavioural model in dynamics is always useful to make conclusions about the generational changes. Educational system can be taken as an example. Previous generations used to get real-life experience from their professors and mentors, whereas today more and more programs are delivered online, with no personal interaction between students and teachers. In fact, 40% of MBA and 70% executive MBA programs are provided by the educational institutions either fully or partly online. This proves the fact that nowadays face-to-face communication is diminishing in value and is expected to continue doing so. In conclusion, the disturbing reality should be faced. The society has experienced formidable changes over the past 30 years and the consequences are unfortunate.