Inner city traffic congestion is still a serious problem in many cities. Much of this congestion is caused by there being simply too many cars on our roads. What could be done to encourage people not to use their cars?

Nowadays, as the economic middle class is becoming stronger and the goods, that used to be only for the privileged, are becoming more accessible for everyone, many challenges arise. An alarming number of cars on the roads causes various problems, such as traffic congestion and environmental pollution. Encouraging people to switch other means of transport could be a reasonable solution to this problem. This essay will discuss methods to encourage people to do that. The gruesome repercussions of the industrialisation of the society, such as ecological problems, are handled in many ways. Government have many mechanisms at their disposal to control a society, economic ones are proved to be the most effective. First of all, the number of cars on the roads can be limited with the use of a financial policy of a country. A basic economic model, introduced by Laffer, indicates that the higher the taxes are, the lower the demand tends to be. If a government was to impose higher taxes on car owners, their number would most certainly decrease significantly because of higher expenditures, assuming that their incomes remain unchanged. Moreover, alongside with less cars on the road, the government may boost public revenues. Monetary instruments are not the only ones used by the governments nowadays. Import quotas and limitations contribute greatly to the sustainable economic development of the countries. The same can be used as a stimulus by governments for people not to use cars. An article, published in The Economist, discussed legal restrictions in Singapore. The new law, adopted by the Parliament and approved by the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry states that there can be only one car per family, particularly per household, in the capital of Singapore. This has led to positive changes, both in the traffic regulation and in the ecology of the city. In conclusion, it should be highlighted that governments are responsible for the improvement of living standards of their population. In particular, they can reduce the number of cars on the streets, using economic methods, such as taxes, or legal regulations and restrictions.