With a growing population, many people believe that we should focus on producing more genetically modified foods. What are advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

It is an irrefutable fact that overpopulation is a significant matter of concern and feeding such huge population is problematic. So, majority of masses reckon that production of genetically modified foods should be adopted. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of genetic modified foods in the subsequent paragraphs. On the one side, there are many benefits of genetically modified food. Firstly, cheaper and more abundant crops will help alleviate the problem of hunger in the world. Secondly, through genetic modification, foods can be given more flavor and a better texture as well as the nutritional value of food can be increased since genetic modified foods are more resistant to harmful insects and fungi. Thirdly, in order to produce genetic modified crops, initially seeds need to be prepared by genetic engineering which create various opportunities in the field of research and employment. For instance, the Times News magazine published that planting genetically modified maizs over the 5 years in the USA has increased the crop production by 30%. On the other side, genetic modified foods also have some drawbacks. The most prominent is that these foods have more potential to tigger allergic reactions as they may contain genes from an allergen means a food that promotes an allergic reaction. Apart from this, some genetic modified plants contain genes that make them resistant to certain antibiotics and this resistance could pass on to humans results into the reduction of ability of people to defend against illness. Furthermore, genetic modified seeds will mix with those of conventional crops. To illustrate this, a survey conducted report that low levels of genetic modified seeds found in food meant for human consumption. To conclude, although there are a number of advantages of genetic modified foods such as rising employment and nutritional value, however, these foods also have some disadvantages as they cause many allergic reactions.