With a growing population, many people believe that we should focus on producing more genetically modified foods. What are advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

It is an irrefutable fact that overpopulation is a significant matter of concern and feeding such huge population is problematic. So, majority of masses reckon that production of genetically modified foods should be adopted. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of genetic modified foods in the subsequent paragraphs. On the one side, there are many benefits of genetically modified food. Firstly, cheaper and more abundant crops will help alleviate the problem of hunger in the world. Secondly, through genetic modification, foods can be given more flavor and a better texture as well as the nutritional value of food can be increased since genetic modified foods are more resistant to harmful insects and fungi. Thirdly, in order to produce genetic modified crops, initially seeds need to be prepared by genetic engineering which create various opportunities in the field of research and employment. For instance, the Times News magazine published that planting genetically modified maizs over the 5 years in the USA has increased the crop production by 30%. On the other side, genetic modified foods have some drawbacks also and the most prominent one is that these can not survive in all weather conditions. So, for proper growth, gentic crops need certain range of weather temperature which is not possible to attain in every part of the world. Next disadvantage is the ethical issue. People do not accept few genetic modified foods because of their religious beliefs. For instance, in 2018 green brinjal was introduced but people of eastern hemisphere did not accept and gave the reason it hurts their religious values. Apart from it, genetic modified crops are not suitable in some cases as these causes allergic reactions to the individuals who suffer from some diseases. These are main disadvantages of the genetic modified crops. To conclude, although there are a number of advantages of genetic modified foods such as rising employment and nutritional value, however, these foods also have some disadvantages as they cause many allergic reactions.