Will technology will dominate mankind?

Will technology will dominate mankind? Introduction: As technology develops, people are relying on technological creations because they provide more options and make life more comfortable. What do you think about this issue? Do you think will the over-reliance lead negatively or positively? Today I want to talk about how will over-reliance on technology affect humankind negatively. Body: The first impact is a malfunction. Malfunction is simply the technology failing to function normally. If people have too much reliance on technology, people will have difficulties such as people will not available to control and people cannot replace the vacancy of the technology. Also, the malfunction might cost human life for example, while using the different types of machines if certain functions do not work, it could be directly related to death or serious injury. So the malfunction is not only about the failure of technology, it may lead to the destruction of human society. According to Forbes, 25 per cent of technology projects fail outright. 20-25 per cent do not show any return also as close to 50 per cent needed massive reworking. So as the result of Forbes, the malfunction will require investments and time. All of the charges are on humans. The second impact is misdirected usage. These days the technology is well distributed, which means that more users are allowed to access the internet. The internet causes misdirect usage such as cyberbullying and hackings. Apart from it, technology can occur physically, such as weapons. According to the image below (Independent Singapore news), online crimes are rapidly increasing. The development in distribution caused misdirected uses even the original purpose was not. The technology provides comfort but as it gives comfort the rate of threats will increase. The misdirected usage is related to an incorrect information (the third reason) as failed information can be used misdirect. The last impact is incorrect information. Information is the main point in many industries also taking part of the centre of society. The information can be spread by the news and social media. The influences and the impacts are huge as there are millions or even billions of users. As technology brings huge influences, it can operate negatively. This is related to the second impact which is misdirected usage as incorrect information can destruct the human societal system. For example, fake news can be harmful. The fake news will also make it harder for people to see the truth as people will tend to not trust the media which is proven as providing wrong information. According to Statista, over 80 per cent of consumers in the US have seen fake news on media during the COVID-19 pandemic. In fact, some of the people were committing the wrong behaviours which are followed by fake news and social media. Conclusion: To finalize, the technologies provide huge comforts, advantages and make human society comfortable and better. However, on the opposite side of advantages, there are disadvantages. To borrow the quotation of Clement Stone, he said "To every disadvantage, there is a corresponding advantage. ". This can be translated into the disadvantages and advantages always corresponding and there isn't a perfect thing. The technology is not basically from nature and technologies are mostly artificial. As human-created, humans need to take responsibility. To conclude, the over-reliance on technologies will provide advantages and disadvantages at the same time.