Why Waste Management Matters

Waste management is one of the problems that governments have to face and solve. Waste problems and policies related to how to solve and manage them are not only discussed at the national level but also international level, as well. Particularly, since the circular economy has been raised on governments and international organizations' agendas, it proposes alternative and sustainable ways to waste treatment methods. European Union takes precautions against environmental problems at the international level, and the EU establishes several environmental standards, directives, and policies to combat environmental problems. Although the standards are helping governments in terms of defining and implementing waste policies, there are more decisive factors to the successful implementation of waste policies. Having well-functioning institutions and the level of economic development are significant and primary factors affecting the government's ability to implement sustainable waste policies. In this context, institutional quality and economic development in countries enable them to implement waste policies and reach higher results in Waste Hierarchy Index scores. Also, the observability of the Environmental Kuznets Curve hypothesis is tested. In addition, the existence of participatory governance influences the implementation of waste policies in countries. For this reason, higher and lower WHI-scored countries are selected, and the existence of participatory governance in countries is analyzed, as well.