Prompt for Summer Program

Growing up as a Jewish Mexican-American was a difficult challenge. Not only did I have so many cultural traits from all, they often overlapped and confused me as a child. The journey to finding my own identity has been a long and still ongoing one. School was a hard place. Children are often cruel and antisemitism is a widespread phenomenon. I would often get made fun of for being Jewish, which would get played by as a joke. This confused me. I had to learn to sit and nod instead of stand up for myself, as when I did stand up for myself, I would get dismissed as sensitive and stubborn. Being Mexican-American was a whole other story. My parents taught me to cherish that side of me, but as I do not appear to be Mexican, I was often shut down and told I couldn’t be “Jewish if I was Mexican” or the other way around. As hard as this was for young me, these dilemmas taught me that it was okay to be unique, it was okay to have different traditions, and its important for me to share the parts of me that are different.