Why it is sometimes better not to tell the truth

We were all told by our parents that lying was a bad thing in childhood, but when we grew up, we realized bit by bit that sometimes we had to tell a lie to avoid worse consequences because telling the truth can sometimes be troublesome. Almost nobody can say the truth all the time, especially nowadays when lying is like a normal thing. While most people prefer to free their minds by being certain in discussion and telling only the truths, some find it arduous to be accurate like the standard set by the society. But I am not saying telling lies is a good thing. It may be a temporary solution to certain problems but nevertheless, it will be exposed in the end. First and foremost, telling the truth sometimes will bring us bad consequences. Imagine that one good person was chased by a group of bad people, and if he or she was caught, he or she would be killed by them. In addition, this poor guy ran into your house and hid. If you were asked where he went by the bad people, then what would you do? If it were me, I would undoubtedly lie even if I know lying is bad because a person’s life is more valuable than the truth in that situation. Secondly, not being honest sometimes makes people comfortable. For instance, if your friend was diagnosed with cancer and the doctor told you that he or she would die within one year. Would you tell him the truth? I think I would choose to tell him that I don’t know and let the doctor or someone else tell him the truth. Because this can reduce the sense of guilt of telling cruel things to others for me and that friend will also somehow feel relieved since he will think that I still don’t know about his diagnosis.