Why is solar energy getting so popular. What are the advantage and disadvantage of solar energy

Everyone is concerned with the issue of global warming and its consequences because of that scientist and other concerned cadres are working day and night with the aim of discovering the best solution to reduce or total stop global warming. This has led to the introduction of solar energy which is believed to be more friendly to the ecosystem. Additionally, solar power has been found to be cheaper than other forms of energy but it has one major drawback it is too reliant to sunlight. The main merits of using power from the sun, is its affordability because it does not involve monthly payments. Unlike electricity or other fossil fuels, it is not paid per consumption, installation is the only thing which needs to be paid, once installed all the other use is free of charge. To date energy from the solar has proved to be cheap because it has no meter which measure the rate of use so as to pay by the end of certain period. A case in point are the solar panels installed in the streets of Zimbabwe to power the street lights, these were installed almost 10years ago up to date they are still being used but no one is making any form of payment. Therefor, we can clearly conclude that sunlight is a cheap source of energy. One major drawback of using solar energy is, it is highly dependent to the sun. If it is cloudy, it is very difficult to get adequate energy as a result, in areas which are always cold and cloudy it is difficult to rely on this form of energy. To add more, most countries have seasons and some seasons are not that sunny. For instance, in Zimbabwe there are two seasons, winter and summer. The winter is very cold and cloudy as a result it is impossible to rely on the use solar power. In conclusion, the sun provides us with low priced energy which does not cause air pollution, although it is difficult to depend on it when there is no sunlight.