Why don’t people take environmental issues seriously in spite of being given many warning by scientists? Why don’t people save energy in their daily life? Discuss the possible causes of these phenomena and give possible solutions.

It is true that although being notified several times regarding the environmental threats of our world, people still continue to be irresponsible. The main reason for this can be lack of proper awareness about the situation, as well as the human tendency to wait for the maximum damage to happen to take notice. This essay shall elaborate on these points and present a reasonable solution to combat them. Environmental issues like global warming have increased at alarming levels in the last two decades. The entire Earth is feeling its impact in some way or the other. But the problem doesn’t seem so severe in areas populated by humans as we still get all kinds of facilities that we want to be able to lead a normal life like accommodation, vehicles, gadgets like refrigerators, air-conditioners, etc. This is why people don’t regard environmental issues seriously as they haven’t started affecting us that much. Another reason why people don’t care is because being environment-friendly requires a lot of efforts (considering the level of pollution nowadays). People have become very lazy, and they don’t want to give up their comfortable lifestyle to be environment-friendly. For example, people are used to travelling by their own car (even to short distances); they do not want to consider walking or taking public transport to save fuel. Similarly, we are so used to technology and electricity that it becomes hard for us to imagine staying even for an hour every day without electricity. This is why people don’t feel the need to save energy as well. The most effective solution in such situations can be a strict imposition of environment-friendly laws by the respective governments. For example, if the government of a certain country decides to declare one day every week as a ‘No Fossil Fuel Day’, people are bound to travel by transport facilities that don’t require gas or fuel. Sure, it may be extremely difficult at first, but a strict enforcement can make people follow these rules. Also, constant awareness should be spread among people regarding the environmental threats that directly affect us. Sadly, humans have a tendency to consider things seriously only when they are repeated again and again in front of them. For example, we remember the most trending issue on social media as it comes up in our news feed every time we open it. In the same way, environmental issues should also be propagated like that. To conclude, the reasons why we don’t take environmental problems seriously are that we don’t quite realize the magnitude of its effects, and we’re too lazy to take efforts so that energy can be conserved. These problems can be solved by strict government vigilance and action, and through spreading of consciousness regarding environmental issues.