Why do you want to be an engineer, and why do you feel diversity is important in the engineering profession?

I want to become an engineer to build something which really helps people and solve major problems. To change the world with my inventions and solutions for a greener, happier world that would affect everyone’s lives. As an engineer, we design solutions to human problems, but not just any old solution will do. Our solutions have to satisfy many factors such as cost, weight, size, ergonomics, environmental impact, reliability, safety, manufacture, repair, construction, power consumption, heat dissipation and many more. Finding an elegant solution that satisfies those constraints is one of the most creative acts I know. I also deeply believe that diversity is important in the field of engineering. I personally admit that creativity is not something that just happens. It is the result of making unexpected connections between things we already know. Hence, creativity depends on our life experiences. Without diversity, the life experiences we bring to an engineering problem are limited. As a consequence, we may not find the best engineering solution. We may not find an elegant engineering solution. I believe we can make a start of diversity by sharing our experiences and ideas with each other. So, diversity is important in the engineering profession.