Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

The topic raises the controversial issue of whether the mass media and internet are making the people's attention shorter, although it has overall positive effects. Indisputably, the mass media and internet are making people lazy as well as perseverance in a specific subject is very low now-a-days. Nevertheless, mass media and internet have created enormous opportunity to learn, communicate, sharing thoughts among peoples. Thus I generally disagree with the opinion that mass media and internet making people lazy and they are not persistent in a particular field and would agree that the mass media and internet are creating positive effects on human as well as our society in a broad sense. First of all, internet and mass media has created the opportunity to easy access of any information. Now a days, the conception is very popular that "access to information''. I would like to point out that the mass media and internet are giving us the opportunity to gain any information what wee need to know or learn. To illustrate, let us look at the example of tourism, if one would like to visit a new country he or she can find the food, culture etc of the locality with the help of internet or he or she can have the related news about the country. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that the internet and mass media have overall positive effects. Furthermore, some people says that, internet and mass media are making people lazy and our thought process is going down. Specifically, social media may be their main concern. For example they can say, young people are passing more time on facebook, twitter etc. Both, common sense and personal experience told that its not true because recently we observed that some phenomenal revolution started from social media like awareness in global warming. Admittedly, some people says perseverance in a specific subject is very low now a days. This is true especially when it comes to some some research oriented subject like mathematics, physics etc. In conclusion, although the opposite ideas are good but not enough to justify the issue.