why children do not spend as much time reading as kids in the past.

There are several reasons why children in modern society do not spend as much time reading as kids in the past. To begin with, it is likely that one of the most prominent causes is the rapid growth of electronics devices, it may be easier for children to be attracted by interesting games, or TV programs. Reading books requires one to be quiet, and concentrate, but cartoon shows are more addictive than books, as a result, many teenagers do not focus on reading or other important things like their studies. Secondly, in today's society, youngsters do not have much time to read, students are too busy with their schedules, and outdoor activities, so they think that spending quality time with a book is time-consuming. Instead of reading reference books, many kids who do not have much homework to do will watch the Tiktok, post their pictures or tweet their activities on Facebook in their leisure time. To add that, the reason why young people refuse to read may be that their parents did not create a habit of reading books when they were a child. In the other words, books are not children's interests, they find it very tiring when seeing a long page full of text, or try to understand the content of stories. Therefore, reading books seems not to be favorable for the younger, so they spend less and less time reading.