While some people think that the problem with education in poor countries is the teaching methodology used, others believe it is the lack of resources that is the real issue.

Many people believe the fact that the way students are taught is the main issue for substandard education in underdeveloped countries, whilst several others say it is due to inadequate resources. In this essay, I will discuss both points objectively. Firstly, focusing on point number one that the main cause of poor education is the way students are taught. The teachers tend to concentrate on theoretical methods of teaching. They believe that making students repeat what they are studying every day is enough for them to apply it to their everyday life. By doing this, a student may memorise a topic, however, due to the lack of practical teaching, they will fail when it will come to real-life application. If a teacher utilizes a real-life scenario, where students need to find a solution, they will be better equipped to tackle challenges in their lives. Practical knowledge definitely outweighs theoretical teaching. On the contrary, many say that the teachers are well-learnt in new methods of teaching but due to the lack of resources, they are unable to implement more engaging concepts of pedagogy. Many underdeveloped countries do not have a good educational infrastructure. They do not have broadband connectivity like the developed countries. Students do not get an opportunity to learn things outside of the traditional classroom. For these students to compete in a world that is so advance is next to impossible because they might not be aware of what kind of skills are required in today’s modern world. To conclude the essay, the methods of teaching may be accountable for poor education. But no availability of good teaching resources may also be accountable for a weak education system. Both these aspects need to be addressed for poorer countries to progress and compete at a global level.