While some people consider global warming to be the most pressing environmental problem which we have at the moment, others believe that deforestation has a more devastating impact on our world.

The global environment is a widely discussed issue in today’s world. Although some believe that global warming as the most critical problem, I would argue that deforestation has a more depressing effect on the earth. Those who identify global warming as the most dangerous threat to our world claim that the earth is becoming inhabitable day by day. As extreme irregularities in the climate have triggered the global temperatures to rise, the glaciers around different parts of the world are melting at a tremendous pace than ever. As a result, the sea levels are rising across the globe, which has made the flooding risk imminent for many island countries. Recent flooding in Venice, Italy is a clear example of increasing sea levels due to global warming. On the other hand, I would argue that global warming itself is a final product of deforestation. In other words, decreasing number of trees is the main reason for the rise in global warming. Forests are considered to be the natural thermostats of the earth. They regulate the earth’s temperature by not only absorbing carbon dioxide (CO2) and releasing oxygen (O2) to the air but also maintaining humidity levels in the air. Since the earth is losing these natural resources rapidly its atmosphere is becoming warmer every day. However, this situation can be reversed by preserving the remaining forests and planting more trees. For example, recently, Ethiopia set a world record by planting 350 million trees to different designated sites in the country within 12 hours. Environmentalists predict that this will surely reduce the effects of climate change which the country has been facing for decades. In conclusion, although global warming is a serious environmental issue, we should focus on overcoming its root cause of “deforestation” rather than on the problem itself.