While recruiting a new employee, the employer should pay more attention to their personal qualities, rather than qualifications and experience.

Like the two wings of a bird, personal qualities and qualifications play a vital role in making a successful employee. Therefore, I advocate that recruiters should give equal importance to both the aspects. To begin with, let us discuss the advantages of personal qualities. There is a strong relation between a candidate’s personal qualities and success in a profession. For example, for a policeman it is important to be tactical and brave. They have to deal with hard core criminals, so too kind hearted candidate can not be the best fit for this kind of job. Similarly, for leadership positions ability to motivate the team is vital. Hence, a person who is an individual performer may not be the best fit. In short, personal qualities contribute a great deal to the success of an individual. On the flip side, qualifications and experience are also worth considering. For example, various management colleges help students to develop managerial-decision-making skills. Even if a learner is not born with such skills, he/she can acquire them through education and internship opportunities. For example, after doing 12th class commerce students usually join internship with an Accountancy firm, which provides them opportunity to learn various aspects of numerical analysis and auditing. Similarly, the para military training during college helps the candidates from different backgrounds to learn essential leadership skills. In short, training and experience play and important role in inculcating many important skills in an individual. To conclude, given that personal attributes as well as training play equally important role in making a successful employee, I suggest that recruiters should give equal weightage to both the aspects.