In the last 20 years there have been significant developments in the field of information technology (IT), for example the World Wide Web and communication by email. However, future developments in IT are likely to have more negative effects than positive.

Information technology is like a double-edged sword. Future developments in the field of computing can be boons or banes, depending on how the advanced knowledge is applied. This essay will discuss potential benefits and risks of future developments. Firstly, let us discuss about future advancements in education. We have already seen how Information Technology is the backbone of online classes in the current times. In future, application of Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning would make technology more human centric. For example, machines would be able to understand the learning patterns of each individual and change the pace to match the learner’s needs. In short, technology would make learning more personalized and intuitive. Secondly, use of Information Technology can be a boon in the field of medicine in the coming decades. Advanced Information Tools would enable remote surgeries through robots. Early signs are positive, and future looks brighter. In nutshell, quality medical-care would be more accessible to masses, thanks to developments in IT. Thirdly, advanced Information Systems can make it easier to catch criminals. The smart Global Positioning & Scanning Systems would be able to identify and locate criminals and their accomplices, who try to hide themselves. In short, developments in IT, are expected to decrease the crime-rate around the world. However, it is true that these developments can be harmful as well. For example, there can be a rise in online frauds, if criminals get access to citizen’s records. Proper checks and balances are imperative. To conclude, Information Technology can be boon for future generations, if such knowledge is applied for benefitting the humanity, rather than harming the humanity.