Some people believe the benefits of tourism outweigh the problems it creates in a particular place.

During the last few decades, tourism has became one of the biggest industries in the world, which worth is probably measured in billiones. We have witnessed a huge increase in number of tourists on one hand, and consequently, resorts, hotels and toures on the other. Although this type of business carries a number of disadvantages, some people argue that, however, there are more advantages than negative effects. Firstly and most clearly, the benefit of tourism is rise in income that comes from the tourists. By spending money in certain place, tourists can impact the country’s funds, which will lead to an opportunity for further investment in significant areas. On other hand, growing number of travellers in one place can affect the prices of goods and services. If more people come to certain cities and resorts, the costs will, thereby, go up. The view that people who travel can meet new cultures, is gaining more popularity. This is simply a consequence of a new, multicultural world we are living in. The more we experience other cultures, the more we appreciate them and therefore, it could lead to a decrease in stereotypes and racism. However, travelling by plane, car or boat can further affect global warming. Due to globalisation, the amount of air and water pollution is soaring, thereby making a number of environmental problems. Finally, tourists who buy food or souvenirs affect not only the nation’s funds, but also local businesses. Thanks to them, locals can run their shops, restaurants, bars and cafes. Although I sympathize with this view, foreign people can also ruin places and heritage sites. Beside that, they often litter, sometimes without knowledge, making the domestic people living there, suffer. In conclusion, it is obvious that tourism industry has a number of disadvantages, but in my opinion, benefits can outweight this. By this being said, it is important to remember how to preserve local sites, wild beaches or even streets, in order to balance out the positive and negative sides.