Whether museums should charge people for admission?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about museums' functions for us. Whether museums should charge people for admission has caused heated debate. In my view, museums can or even ought to charge visitors for admission. First, it is obvious that people will gain more knowledge from museums if they have spent money on admission. This is because people always focus more seriously on what costs their money, which is valuable to them. So the museums charging for admission will help people obtain more knowledge after visiting, which can better improve the public cultural quality. Moreover, the museum needs funds to repair and renovate treasures collected in it. For example, there are only a few ancient Chinese silk clothes kept in the Forbidden City. They are beautiful but vulnerable, which can be impaired easily. So the museum needs experts and money to preserve them. If the museums charge visitors for admission, they will have enough funds to preserve the treasures of human kind. However, that is not to say that there exist no disadvantages to charging for admission. Most people prefer visiting museums without spending money and the museums will attract less tourists if they charge for admission, which marginally goes against the improvement of public cultural quality. But still, the advantages outweigh its disadvantages. In sum, most museums should charge visitors for admission. Meanwhile, the government should also serve some free local museums. Only in this way can museums ultimately play vital rules in people's daily life.