Where to spend government budget?

It has been believed that the public transportation system is the one on which the government should prioritize to allocate the governmental budget. However, I believe there is an urgent important issue for the government today to address, namely improving Internet access. As I see it, there are two main reasons why I feel this way. To begin with, Internet has become an essential part of our contemporary life. We can't do anything without Internet access or digital devices ranging from learning to work. In particular, after the pandemic hit all across the world, our daily lives became hugely dependent on the Internet. For instance, now schools are offering their classes online. That is, if students don't have a personal computer or live in an area where the Internet service doesn't reach, they are likely to be exempted from getting a normal education service. It seems clear that our society is moving so quickly toward the technology-oriented world thus, the dependence on the Internet will increase. In that sense, it is wise to finance government money on imporving Internet access for everyone. On top of that, given the amount of time and money that will be put in, working on better Internet access is more efficient than enhancing the public transportation system. When we think about building a new train station, we should expect a long process to pull it off. Not only the station should be built, but also a new rail should be made to connect to other stations, which are fairly demanding tasks. Furthermore, all these essential works to make a train run are fairly expensive as well. On the other hand, it is much cheaper and less time-consuming to enhance Internet access. This is mainly because a basic web for Internet access is already more or less established given the research indicates that 90 percent of the population has an access to the Internet either at home or at work. The only step left is to upgrade the existing services, which will cost less time and money than building a new one. ​ To sum up, as society is requiring people to adapt to the digitalized world, Internet access has growing importance of our daily lives. Given this prospect as well as the economic values, I strongly believe that it is wise to invest government budget on the improvement of Internet access.