When students study a foreign language, they should also study the culture and lifestyle of the people who speak the language.

Of late, the trends of studying foreign languages like English, French and Chinese are exponentially increasing across the world. In such a situation, some people assert that the students should also study the cultural and lifestyle aspects of the ‘natives’ speaking the particular language they are learning. Nevertheless, I personally disagree with it. The culture and lifestyle of foreign countries need not be studied by the students due to a variety of reasons. First and foremost, it is critical to recognise that the students’ own cultural traditions and lifestyles are of high significance could be of higher significance. If they study foreign cultures and lifestyles, their native culture will be distorted. For instance, a recent survey by National Geographic magazine exhibited that the local cultural values of have been forgotten by some students who started studying American culture while pursuing education in Mumbai University. Secondly, such study of foreign cultures and lifestyles should not be imposed on anyone. Students, particularly in today’s democratic world, should have their own choice in this regard. Admittedly, it is also true that while learning a foreign language in a proper way, building an understanding of their ‘native’ cultural values and lifestyle could be a game changer. For this, the students could be required to watch movies of particular cultures. Secondly, this is important to develop a cosmopolitan culture also, which will eventually lead to convergence of diverse cultures across the world. However, in this context, it should not be forgotten that studying foreign culture should be an option, not a compulsion. On the basis of the above deliberations, it could precisely be concluded that the arguments against compulsion to study foreign culture which learning some language are more convincing and stronger (more substantial) vis-à-vis arguments in its favour. This is, inter-alia, due to the necessity of protection of native culture from distortions.