what were the reaons for the sea cow's extinction

The reading and the listening are both about the causes of the extinction of a marine mammal known as Steller's sea cow. The author of the article presents three theories about the sea cow's extinction reasons. However, the speaker contradicts all the three theories made in the text. In his opinion, they are fallacious. Firstly, according to the reading, sea cows had a lot of flesh and were hunted aggressively for meat by the native people of Berind Island. However, the speaker challenges this specific claim. He claims that the sea cows were massive in size, and the population of the island was small. Further, he points out that one cow could have served the population for more than a month, so hunting is not the reason for the sea cow's extinction. Secondly, the writer suggests that the sea cow's food, Kelp, was diminished in quantity because of the environmental changes, and sea cows died due to starvation. The lecturer, however, asserts that there was no significant evidence of Kelp's shortage. Furthermore, he elaborates on this by saying that even though there was a shortage of Kelp, other sea mammals like whales were not affected, so this was not the reason for the sea cow's extinction. Finally, the author posits that European fur traders killed a lot of the sea cows. In contrast, the speaker's stance is that the sea cow's population was declining before the European's arrival. Moreover, he puts forth the idea that something else that happened before the arrival of European caused the extinction of sea cows.