what is e-commerce, meaning, history and development

1. 1. Meaning Ecommerce, also known as electronic commerce or internet commerce, refers to the buying and selling of goods or services using the internet. 1. 2. History ComputServe was founded by two electrical engineering students Dr. John R. Goltz and Jeffrey Wilkins in 1969. Then CompuServe introduced some of the earliest form of email and internet connectivity to the public and dominated the ecommerce landscape through the mid-1990s In 1979, an English inventor Michael Aldrich introduced electronic shopping by connecting a modified TV to a transaction-processing computer via telephone line. The first eCommerce company was Boston Computer Exchange, which launched all the way back in 1982. It was primarily an online market that served people who wanted to sell their used computers. With the arrival of the Internet, another, more familiar kind of store debuted. 1. 3. Development E-commerce market сontinues to develop very rapidly, in spite of world economic crisis and other negative effects. Up to now, the e-commerce industry has grown by up to 32% according to the World Bank. In the future, it will develop even more. Online sales now account for 40% of global Fast moving consumer goods growth. It’s forecasted that by 2025, the Ecommerce industry will account for 10% of total spending of FMCG globally. The world is increasingly bursting with computer networks, everyone can access the Internet. People communicate and connect with each other easily just by the Internet, that is the reason why ecommerce services in the worlds are growing stronger and stronger.