What impact does the social media have on the human life?

Based on recent studies conducted worldwide, it is evident that the usage of social networking sites has increased by mammoth proportions. While these social platforms, without doubt, have various positive effects on the community, my conviction is that its detrimental sides, namely health deficiency, rising alienation and crime, cannot be neglected and I will try to substantiate my viewpoints with relevant examples. To commence with, social media has profound negative impacts on both our psychological and physical health. Common issues like cyber bullying and trolling are huge contributing factors to feelings of anxiety and depression. Even worse, victims of bullying are strongly tendency to commit suicide due to its enormous harmful effects on their mental fitness. Apart from direct online bullying, social media disorder is a distress that is caused by virtual interactions. Some popular reasons of this apprehension, include having a fear of missing out, requiring attention from others and the overall addiction to using the websites. Together with its damaging influences of mentality, social media can directly affect our physical strength as well. Many of us feel like the more time we spend staring at screens, the worse our vision gets. As it turns out, this isn’t just a personal feeling - it’s a medically substantiated repercussion of excessive screen time. Moreover, the blue light emitted by our screens which can make us more difficult to both fall asleep and sleep well, unless we stop scrolling screens at least 30 minutes before bed. With regard to the general public, it is often witnessed that people have become disjointed and fragmented owing to the prevalence of social media in societies. Rather than individual people taking part in their local community, they are substituting their real-life relations with digital communication. In fact, a great number of adolescents nowadays tend to prefer making acquaintances via social applications to gathering at a real place. In the long term, this would gradually alienate people from communities, which could even lead to social isolation and a lack of many interpersonal skills. Furthermore, the most critical issue is that there is a significant rise in crime in the society which is due to the misuse of social-media websites. Many attackers hack public profiles of celebrities, which contains personal data and pictures, and then take advantage of these pieces of information to blackmail them. By the same token, there are many cases where criminals target teenage boys and girls by creating fake profiles, and once they fall into their trap, they kidnap them and ask for extortion money from their family. To reiterate, although social sites have brought unprecedented conveniences to communicate with other people, it cannot be refuted that they are leading to decreased impact on both single person and society. However, there are some solutions to alleviate these negativities, such as setting limited time for surfing the internet, intensifying face-to-face meeting and deliberately sharing your information. Henceforth, whether defects of the bounties of the scientific research outweigh its merits or not is determined by the utilisation of humans.