What does the fox say? What does the fox say? What does the fox say? What does the fox say?

Even after being handed down punishment for their previous crimes, several criminals often go on to perpetrate more offences, which oftentimes are more grave. Some reasons for this phenomenon include lack of harsh punishment and, in some cases, psychiatric illnesses. Effective solution for these problems may include imposing harsher punishments and support by the family and state for the treatment of psychiatric conditions and rehabilitation. At least two distinct causes can be pointed out as to why many criminals commit more crimes after serving their first sentence. One of the causes is that the offenders are not given harsh enough sentencing for their first instance of crimes. As a result, after serving the sentence, they go on to believe that they can commit a crime and face only a minor punishment. Another reason why they commit more crimes is that they may be suffering from mental illnesses, which may be rendering them incapable of distinguishing right from wrong. Several studies about serial killers and rapists have found a link between these offences and psychiatric illnesses. To combat these problems, firstly, the state has to implement stricter laws and hand down harsher punishments to the first time offenders so as to deter them from repeating such crimes, or any crimes for that matter. Secondly, those criminals that have mental illnesses should be given proper treatment for their illnesses. With the advent of several medicines and psycchotheray, several of these mental conditions are now treatable. The government can also help by setting up rehabililation programs for these felons. In conclusion, repeat offenders, despite being punished for previous offences, reoffend due to some clear causes, and the number of such cases can be controlled by various appropriate measures, which will require support from the state and family.