what does nuclear power do to environment?

It is irrefutable that being overly reliant on unsustainable energy of human beings induces the deficiency of these non-renewables. There emerges a highly controversial issue whether nuclear power proves superior to conventional energy sources to fulfill inexorably burgeoning demands worldwide. From where I stand, I do agree with the aforementioned notion to some valid extent and reasons supporting my perspective will be explored as below. On the one hand, opponents of nuclear energy could cite several reasons for their concerns. First and foremost, the key rationale in favor of this view is the negative impact on human health and well-being in the proximity of nuclear plants. More specifically, perilous substances and radioactive waves damage normal functions of organs. Besides, they can engender health repercussions such as accelerating the process of cancers or acute diseases. Another compelling justification is the overwhelming price, uranium is known as the uncommon element which plays an important role in generating nuclear power so the importation cost is higher than any other element. In other words, the construction price and staffing experts can add up costs due to the risks when working in nuclear plants. On the other hand, despite the aforementioned setbacks, nuclear power is of uttermost importance, and justifiably so. To start with, this energy source is environmentally friendly because nuclear emits less byproducts than fossil fuels. To be more detailed, fission power avoids more than 470 million metric tons of carbon each year, which is the equivalent of removing 100 million cars off the road. Moreover, nuclear plants run 24 hours a day, 7 days a week so there will be a colossal supply of energy for every action in need. As a result, the energy crisis is solved and this makes nuclear power the most reliable source on the grid today. In conclusion, even though nuclear power can provide sufficient quantities in terms of energy and barely take a heavy toll on the mother earth, I opine that its drawbacks are more obvious due to the fact that it triggers war and exerts adverse repercussions on humanity's health.