Social networks addiction

Social networks addiction, a behavioral dependence, causes numerous negative effects on users. Mental health effects is one of the serious consequences that being addicted bring. Researchers has proven the link between social network’s usage and negative mental health. These negative emotions are usually the result of comparisons between the users and others’ lifestyles, social life or materials. While seeing others posting about their accomplishment, one might feel inspired but on the other hand, people instead feel jealous, depressed or even suicidal considering their life is not as “perfect”. Social life will also get affected. People who depend on social network are shown to be struggle with maintaining their current relationships and having trouble making new one. Because of how it rewards the brain with constant stream of dopamine whenever get a like or share people are depended on these online validations. Especially in teenagers, studies have found that teens who are addicted, tense to spends more time alone while lacking social skills and meaningful relationships. Social media is still a relatively new phenomenon, yet it already dominates significant chunks of our life. But with moderation, we can keep it under control.