what do you think werw the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

Until recently, the majority of people lived in the village where they were born. However, now people tend to live in large cities and, as a result, the way people live has changed. There were a number of benefits to living in a small village. Firstly, people knew each other and, in the village my grandparents came from, everyone spoke to everyone else, so no one ever felt lonely. Secondly, there was always someone to look after the children and to teach them good behaviour, so children grew up being polite and respectful. Also, they could play safely in the street, and there was little crime. It was a simple like but everyone was happy. However, there were a number of disadvantages. The nearest primary school was in the next village and the nearest secondary school in the town some miles away. This meant that most children did not get a good education and most people had to work in agriculture. If young people were ambitious, they had to move away from the village, and few people had the chance to do this. Also when someone was ill, it was a long way to the nearest hospital. All in all, I think people from grandparent's generation were happier. However, in the modern world, with all possibilities which exist today, I think it is a pity to be limited to a small village nowadays there are more advantages to living and a large city.