What could be done to encourage people to buy local products? An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

With the evolution of the internet and web services, the online market has immensely grown over a decade. People are more encouraged to buy things at their fingertips than to walk or ride to the market. There are multiple benefits as well as drawbacks for both, online shopping and local markets. In my opinion, though online shopping has ample advantages, buying local products should also be encouraged. There are multiple benefits of shopping online. One of the major benefits is, one can buy anything from anywhere in the world by just clicking a button. Not only variety of products is available but also the consumer can compare the prices for the same product. Along with the buyer, the seller has the advantage of not keeping sufficient stock at a warehouse. Hence, the stock revenue calculation can be neglected. Another advantage of shopping online is that one can search for multiple brands without visiting the physical store. For instance, clothing displayed on the physical store is dependent on the target audience, while online stores have vast choices of clothing for the same brand. Moreover, the seller is spared from buying land to construct a store. Although there are multiple positive points, online shopping has adversely affected the health of humankind. The virtual market is one of the main reasons for the sedentary lifestyle of the youth. This has not only attacked the mental stability of a person but has also shown a high increase in the crime rate. People show fraudulent behavior to earn money. Bank account hacks, selling faulty items as well as returning used products to sellers are all examples of misbehavior towards society. But, all these drawbacks can be resolved by proper internet security and safety. With the change of era and constant use of technology, the online market will see a rise in purchase demand. But, we should also encourage people to buy local products as it has the essence of one's native land. Local sellers are truthful towards the customers as well as they maintain the business relationship with honesty. Newspaper articles, radio stations, and payment gateways should encourage people to buy local products. In a cashless world, local businesses supporting online payment systems would be the cherry on the cake for their business.