What aspects of physical environment above do you have to manage the most in your class? Why? Before this course, was it easy for you to manage them using English in the classroom only? Why?

When teaching English in my class, most of the time I need to manage students’ movements and hands. I am assigned to teach grade 3 and grade 4 students who are very active and energetic, so controlling students’ movements or instructing them how to use their hands reasonably in class is highly important to have effective lessons. Students at primary level have short attention span and like moving around, therefore, good movements and hands management can help them be more interested in the lessons and support teachers in controlling the class better. For example, asking students to move around to interview their friends is one of the activities that my students like the most and respond enthusiastically because they are children – they like to move. Before joining this course, sometimes I find it quite hard for me to manage movements and hands using English in the classroom only because in my class, there are a lot of ethnic minority students who have limited communication skill due to language barrier. When teaching those students, I usually have to use Vietnamese or do actions to illustrate what I want to convey. In addition, students at grade 3 are new to English, so it is quite a challenge for them to understand what I wants to say if I speak English all the time.