With the breakthrough of new technologies, the most attractive way of reading books has been changed. Although some people hold the opinion that the electronic books are increasingly supplanting the printed ones, it is argued by others that the paper-writings are still crucial and will resist to the digital technology's overwhelming. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions and expr

With the breakthrough of new technologies, the most attractive way of reading books has been changed. Although some people hold the opinion that the electronic books are increasingly supplanting the printed ones, it is argued by others that the paper-writings are still crucial and will resist to the digital technology's overwhelming. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions and express my point of view concerning the future of the traditional method of reading books. On the one hand, the supporters of reading books online witness the upsides of this tendancy on the reader himself and on the society. Firstly, reading whenever and wherever people are, is a great opportunity that is only offered through the digital library. In fact, whether you are in a waiting room or in the public transport, waiting time is far from being justified. The easy access to the large variety of applications to read a book or a novel may allow to enhance one's knowledge under whichever circumstances. This can be illustrated by the wide - spread of the phenomenon of browsing over digital books in the train or on the tram. Furthermore, having a gratuitous access to some books is an undeniable advantage of electronic reading. Because of the unaffordability of a number of novels, the fans of reading may be dissuaded to purchase all the volumes if they aim to enjoy the total story. Alternatively, the digital technology suggests reading without having to pay any fee. On the other hand, as far as the reasons of the necessity of printed books are concerned, many people believe that the pleasure to be in intimate contact with the paper while reading, can never be matched. In other words, a large section of people obsessed with physical books evoke an exceptional feeling of comfort and peacefulness merely by leafing through their pages. Moreover, writing a book and selling it to the community is the source of revenue for both of the writer and the publisher. To put in an other way, those people need to incite the readers to purchase their publications to assure the necessary outcomes for a digny life. Otherwise, the publishing houses risk bankruptcy. Thus, in order to guarantee their financial security, the writers and the editors will continue to produce new books with exiting and attractive contents. Such is the case, the printed book still play a key role in the subsistence of the publishing houses despite the competitivity of the digital libraries. For instance, the variable stands of the international book fair in Algeria receive every year, a huge number of visitors who search for the newest books and novels recently published wideworld, which is a neat witness of the popularity of the traditional book in this country. To conclude, It is true that some people trust in the ability of the technological development to abolish paper books by providing online libraries, however, other humankind believe in the impossibility of supplanting this culture deeply rooted in their minds. Personally, I support the idea that the printed book will resist to the digital era' s influence and will eternally subsist as it offers an exceptional relaxation and contributes to the preservation of some people's revenues.