What are the various purposes of museums? What are the ways to fund them? Should government Fund them?

Museums play a vital role in keeping the history alive. Today a varieties of museums are established. Such as art museum, utensils museum, doll museum, coins museum, etc. But why? To let the future generation be in touch with our previous history. Museums are tributes to the innovations and creativeness of our ancestors. The artefacts preserved in museums represent the fundamentals of what we are today and what we have today. A very simple example could be coins that ancestors used are still being used; though there are some modifications, the idea was originated thousands of years ago. However, maintaining a museum is quite challenging. Not just to keep the ancient artefacts in their best conditions but also museum's infrastructure requires a lot of spending. It is definitely undoubtable that a person or two cannot maintain a museum forever, even if he is the richest among all. Some other ways to collect funds for the maintenance can be; charging reasonable entry fees, selling replicas of some famous antiques or artefacts present in the museums, online advertisment or by arranging funding camps. All of the above mentioned ways may allow to collect adequate funds. But it is not certain that everytime the collected funds are adequate. Hence, there should be an alternative option, which in my view is government. Infact, government is already funding the museums and I believe it should continue to fund in order to keep the bond between history and future generation unbreakable. To conclude, I would say that the existence of museums are dependent on local public. Today they are with us only because we make efforts for the same.