Cause and effect essay: A problem of modern societies is the declining level of health, especially gaining weight of the general population. Researchers are warning people with the facts that obesity can bring serious problems such as depression and heart-related diseases. In this essay, we will discuss the possible causes and effects of being overweight.

In my opinion, one of the main reasons why people get obese is eating junk food and a sedentary lifestyle. Nowadays, the number of people who working day and night is constantly increasing, so they do not have any leisure time to cook by themselves. In order to save some time to work, they prefer to order a cheap meal from fast-food restaurants, such as MacDonalds, KFC and etc which after what, they consume more fats, carbohydrates than they would cook by themselves. Because, scientists proved that, if a person cook from natural ingredients, the number of fats will be considerably fewer than in restaurants. Also, the next reason for this problem is a sedentary lifestyle without any physical activities. Now, people to relax choose sitting in front of the TV instead of doing sport. It has been proved that during the sport, it is so much oxygen carried to the brain, after which you will feel yourself cheerfully. But when we are collapsing near the TV, we burn fewer calories than we consume, as a result, of course, we are starting to gain the pounds. As the possible effects of this problem, we can consider some health problems and loss of productivity. First of all, obesity results in incorrect functioning of the body and contributes to the risk of developing some chronic diseases. For example, as body fat percentage increases, the person's metabolism worsens, which in turn may result in diabetes or heart diseases. Secondly, overweight people are very unhealthy and often suffer from stress and tiredness. This lessens their work capacity and results in lower productivity. For example, it has been proven that an obese person needs to put more effort to complete some task than a person with normal weight. To sum up, obesity is a big problem that affects a lot of people nowadays. It’s mainly caused by inactive lifestyle and eating disorders and results in severe health problems and loss of productivity.