What are the qualities that you think are most necessary to be a good English teacher? Why are these qualities important? Discuss, giving examples.

Teachers play a fundamental role in their learners' academic achievement, and their quality can highly influence student outcomes. English language teachers are by no means an exception, and their significant role in effective language learning cannot overlook. Some features of an effective English language teacher are sound subject-matter knowledge, qualified pedagogical knowledge, and personal characteristics. First, there is no doubt that effective English teachers have to obtain the subject- matter knowledge to utilize the target language effectively in classes, integrate lessons based on students' backgrounds, and prepare lesson plans productively. In addition, a good English teacher needs to acquire fluency, accuracy, lexicon, and standard pronunciation to being on knowledgeable on target culture. According to Lange (1990), language proficiency constitutes the foundation of the professional confidence of non-native English teachers and has been considered an essential quality of a good English teacher. In short, the more teachers have subject-matter knowledge, the more effectively they teach and the more successful results they can pursue. Second, English teachers should gain intimate pedagogical methods to convey what they know to their learners and deal with the affective domain. With numerous teaching techniques, teachers are likely to provide learners with a stress-free environment to receive and produce knowledge better, sustain their interest, welcome students' mistakes, try to put themselves in their student's shoes, and give them positive reinforcement. It is clear that English teaching methodology has shifted more rapidly than that of other subjects, and consequently, English teachers have to be more up-to-date to cope with its innovation. To sum up, fully equipped with profound pedagogical methods, English teachers can meet students' individual needs and lead to successful classes. Last but not least, teachers must have social-affective skills to interact with their students and maintain the education process effectively. By developing social-affective skills, English teachers have success in motivating their students, inspiring their students' passion for studying both under their guidance in the classes and out of them by themselves, being enthusiastic for teaching, and having positive attitudes towards students. In other words, to be effective, teachers should combine their behavior with both their minds and their emotions. To conclude, to be a good English teacher, teachers must keep working hard to master professional knowledge, continuously innovate teaching methodology and improve their social-affective skills.