Not enough students around the world choose to study science subjects at university. WHAT ARE THE REASONS FOR THIS? WHAT IMPACTS DOES THIS ISSUE HAVE ON SOCIETY?

Amidst an overwhelming array of hundreds of programs in university, it is noticeable that just a small proportion of students would like to pursue a science degree. This essay will highlight the contributing factors as well as the consequences of this trend posed to society in the coming future. Not like a career-oriented degree, studying science is considered as an interest without a clear end goal. It is undeniable that many graduates with business or engineering-related degree are more capable of securing a job with a competitive salary and a better career development. Graduates from Science School, however, are often struggling to land a job upon graduation. For example, there is only a limited range of jobs with low starting salary for biology students such as research assistant and laboratory assistant. This may affect the willingness of students to choose a subject with a higher competitive edge. Secondly, lack of support to the industry is another reason behind. There is no denying the fact that not enough resources and money have been allocated from the government to the science field in order to support several researches. Consequently, this may trigger many talents to lose interest in joining or staying in the field. The results of getting not enough scientists are tremendous, not only put our future generation in jeopardy, but also hinder the discovery of several scientific theories. The number of scientists may drop significantly and the new inventions fall correspondingly. It is worth mentioning that the swift development of society requires the assistant of technology, which highlight the importance of presence of scientists. Artificial Intelligence, for instance, is certainly essential to reduce the cost of operation in some social activities. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that limited resources distribution to science development and money-orientated society are the main causes of this phenomenon, which might lead to a negative result in the society.