What are the purposes of places such as museums and how should they be funded?

Places such as museums play an irreplaceable role in modern lives. This essay will outline the main functions of them and suggest some possible ways in which they could be funded. Public museums are institutions that collect and safeguard historical or artistic objects and works and make artifacts and specimens accessible, which they hold in trust for society. In a way, they are the source of history and offer an insight into the life before. So the significance of them also lies in their roles as a national memory bank. =Public museums are institutions that collect and preserve historical objects or artistic works. In a way, they are the source of history and offer a significant way to study the past. So the role of museums cannot be replaced in this case. High importance is also placed on the role of museums in providing an ideal learning environment, enabling children and adults to enter world that they may otherwise never get to know. Now, many museums set aside study days to allow more intensive exploration of the cultural background of an exhibition or area of the collections. With the rise of technology, public museums are able to provide the mass with interactive education on the spot. Visitors can experience hundreds of exhibits and investigate them further using scientific tools and instruments that are provided to encourage visitors to make observations, look for relationships and draw their own conclusions. On a more materialistic level, museums contribute significantly to the country’s revenue, as they are sources of tourist attraction. Many famous national or public museums bring in visitors from all over the world, which generates flourishing profits for the hotel, food and retail industries. Therefore, I think museums should be mainly funded by the government. In this case, free entry can attract more people to come to visit them so as to fulfill their roles as public assets to a larger extent.