What are the pros and cons of public transport?

In recent times, due to considerable rise in population, there is a focus on using public transport especially on large cities. There are various kinds of public transport to facilitate people’s transportation. However there are some benefits and also number of drawbacks to using this. In this essay I will explore the advantages and disadvantages of using public transport and offer my opinion. Let’s begin by looking at the benefits of using public transport. One of the main positives is decrease in traffic congestion. If we use bus or taxi, the number of vehicles on the street will plummet by a large number. Consequently this reduction can lead to less carbon monoxide emission. So it can have a tremendous influence on air pollution. Turning to the other side of the argument, the costs of public transport in a certain number of cities is a major downside. Generally speaking, many people prefer to have a car to avoid paying the charges of bus, taxi, etc. Having said that, owning a car can also make you spend a lot of money on it, but after all many people would rather travel by their own car. Another issue is the lack of public transport that results in the crowd in the bus or underground which is uncomfortable for approximately everyone. All things considered, if we weigh up the pros of using public transport and also its cons, the benefits overweigh the negatives. Personally I think we should use public transport and also government should subsidize it to attract people to use public transport more.