What are the mian problems of studing abroad

Everyone is emotionally bonded with their family, friends and familiar surroundings. This means that they most probably get homesick once they are detached from the people and places they have spent their whole lives with, which seems to be confusing for awhile after a person’s arrival at his/her new residence. Language is highly likely to be another source of complication since for communication to take place effectively, people need to have the knowledge of both linguistic items like words and expressions and of cultural, social and non-linguistic background of the language. If such knowledge has not been achieved, either communication is blocked or there are chances of misunderstanding, both of which acting as definite sources of frustration. Another fundamental concern is social and cultural adjustment of the students in an unfamiliar culture called ‘culture shock’. It is a state of disorientation and anxiety about not knowing how to behave in an unfamiliar culture. Mild irritation, deep seated psychological crisis or panic, and inability to work or study effectively are some common dysfunctional results of culture shock, which may lead students to give up their studies and go home.