deforestation pros and cons

The article introduces the topic of deforestation which means cutting down of forests to fulfill human needs. The author states the benefits of deforestation which are; the deforestation create larger area for farming which will benefit the economy of the country. The speaker, however contradicts the writers aforementioned statement by saying that the writer is not thinking of the long term consequences which the demolishment of trees will bring that is, this act will bring danger to world’s ecosystem as 60% of the oxygen comes from the rainforests. He further says that we should look for alternatives for farming instead of cutting down trees. He further stated that Hydroponic farming, an artificial farming technique can also be practiced as this method requires no soil. Secondly, the writer in his article gives another advantage of deforestation which would be increase of space for construction of residential areas as there is an increase demand for housing this will also benefit the economy. On the contrary, the professor states establishment of residential areas by cutting down trees shouldn’t be the main concern as the forests are the home to numerous animals, insects and by doing this heinous act, it will displace many animals and forests from their homes. He also states the importance of forests by saying that 28% of oxygen comes from rainforest. Finally, the writer states that many countries like Brazil rely on deforestation for their income by creating furniture from the wood. The speaker, on the other hand says only the small business owners who organize these projects get benefit from deforestation as the workers are on low wage performing dangerous tasks.