What are the characteristics of being a good parent?

Today, some parents are too concerned about raising “project kids” which refers to children whose parents want to canalize the children to specific jobs, only for the sake of their name and reputation. Some parents do not promote the development of children both mentally and physically and some of them are not even aware of their responsibilities at all. Then what are the criteria to be considered as a good parent? I personally believe that there are three most essential characteristics of a good parent. Firstly and most importantly, a parent must be affectionate and loving. From the moment we come to the world crying, we seek our parents’ love. If a parent fails to give enough love that a child requires, this would cause irreversible psychological results for the child. Because people who were raised without love are more likely to grow their own children with the same lack of love. This loop leads to many individuals who are not at peace with themselves. Consequently, more problematic individuals create a more problematic society. Secondly, one of the most crucial features of a good parent is being a good role model for the children. Parents must first themselves put into practice the behavior and values that they hope their children will develop since their actions will speak louder than their words. For instance, using eco-friendly products and protecting the environment is more powerful than just warning the children about not throwing the garbage on the ground. Being a good model for children also requires treating others with kindness and respect which will encourage the children to act the same way. Thirdly, good parents must certainly support their children about their preferences in life rather than forcing them to choose certain things. Parents usually foster their children to accomplish so many things at the same time. They hire special instructors and pay huge amounts of money for the lessons that maybe their children are not interested in. However, you cannot make an artist out of your child if he is not interested in music or you cannot force him to become a doctor, a lawyer, and the other jobs that you consider esteemed. Therefore, parents must allow their children to enhance in the area that they want to go forward. In conclusion, I hold the belief that these three elements are the most important characteristics of a good parent, if we want our children to succeed in life, both personally and academically.