What are the causes of water shortage

Freshwater is one of the vital resources required for all living beings on this planet. But today the amount of water supply is declining rapidly due to several reasons. However, governments and people can take steps to tackle the water crisis. One of the major reasons behind water scarcity is that its demand has increased twice than earlier as the population is growing exponentially. In African and Middle Eastern countries, pressure on water resources is increasing daily. Moreover; industries and factories use a huge amount of water in their process and have been responsible for polluting a large proportion of available freshwater due to the discharge of harmful chemicals and compounds into water without any treatment and making most of the available water unsuitable for drinking. Besides, Agriculture uses a majority of available freshwater. About 60% of this water gets wasted because of inefficient agriculture methods and leaky irrigation systems. There are three effective solutions to the water challenges. One way to tackle the shortage is that Governments should allocate a budget for programs of educating the public on the water issue and effective consumption pattern. Furthermore, using state-of-the-art recycling and purifying systems will bring the black water back to the circle in both agriculture and industry sectors. Last but not least, in the agriculture sector, reducing irrigation by as little as two percent could avert acute shortages; farmers could save water by using drip irrigation, soil moisture sensors, and planting more drought-resistance crops.