What are the causes and effects of being overweight?

The recent years are witnessing an alarming growth in the number of overweight people. It is extremely easy to find the main causes and effects this phenomenon has on daily life. In my opinion, the foremost causes of overweight are inactive lifestyle and unhealthy eating habits. Today more and more people rely on cars instead of walking, have less physical demands at work and prefer inactive leisure activities. This results in burning fewer calories and gaining weight. Secondly, it is undeniable that those who consume fast food gain weight much faster than those who don’t. With the consumption of fried food moving in tandem, fat will accumulate, assemble, and is gradually hard to be got rid of. Thus, an inactive lifestyle and eating fast food are the two most important causes of overweight. The main effects stemming from these reasons are health-related diseases. Including heart diseases, diabetes, high blood pressure, stroke, and some types of cancer. Those kinds of diseases will certainly make them feel a struggle in their life. For example, the majority of people with diabetes and high blood pressure in Vietnam and other ASEAN countries are considered to be the main influences of overweight. In addition, being overweight also causes the body to become oversized, so it causes feelings of inferiority and stress for overweight people themselves. To sum up, overweight is a big problem that affects a lot of people nowadays. It’s mainly caused by inactive lifestyle and eating disorders and results in severe health problems and loss of confidence.