What are the benefits of traveling for the traveler?

There is a saying that a brain that is open for learning will never remain the same. Although it is quite acceptable for some people to think that it is only through travelling that we can gain new insight, yet it is out of the question for others. In my opinion, I strongly disagree that moving from one place to another expands the mind for new ideas, and in the following paragraphs I will give reasons to support this statement. One reason why I disagree that travelling expands our horizon is because reading books provides a better perspective by taking the reader through a mind-blowing journey, thus providing the book reader with fresh insight. Although, book reading can be done while sitting, yet the reader travels several miles and experience new culture and ways of life. For example, a recent survey by the University of Nigeria on the importance of reading shows that a person that reads books is more adept than a traveler. Another reason why I disagree that travelling changes people's horizon is that a person can broaden his or her mind by interacting with someone that is knowledgeable on a subject matter. There is always an exchange of ideas while interacting with such fellow. For example, I gain new insight when talking with someone that is well vested in a subject, and this helps broaden my horizon. To sum up, while some people might conclude that it is only through travelling we could develop new experience, which is quite understandable. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with that statement because one can develop new perspective through reading and interacting with a knowledgeable person.