What are the advantages and disadvantages of traveling

traveling offers people an opportunity to visit interesting places, learn new things, and meet new people (5 Benefits of Travelling, 2013). It is one of the best ways to interact with people from other races, cultures, and ethnicities. Travelers explore the various beliefs and traditions that guide other people’s lives and learn how interconnected humanity is (Mitchell, 2006). For example, there are very many cultures in the world that have preserved their traditional beliefs, customs, and practices. Visiting countries such as Kenya, Mexico, China, and India is an occasion to experience such unique cultures. On the other hand, meeting new people who speak different languages and who live differently is exciting and educational. Travelers also visit interesting places that have great cultural and historical value (5 Benefits of Travelling, 2013). For example, the Eiffel Tower in France, the Machu Picchu in Peru, and the Pyramids in Egypt possess great historical and cultural value. Learning about their histories can help travelers to comprehend the cultures, traditions, and customs of different tribes and societies, as well as their dynamics. Another advantage of traveling is the chance to learn, relax, and widen one’s scope of knowledge (Mitchell, 2006). In certain cases, one of the requirements of traveling abroad is learning the language that is used in the country that one intends to visit. English is an international language. However, it is not spoken in all countries. Therefore, it would be necessary to learn new languages in order to enhance effective communication and interaction with people who speak indigenous languages (Thumb, n. d). There are numerous historical sites to visit around the world, and visiting them teaches furnishes knowledge about their historical significance to various countries and cultures (Marks, n. d). For instance, people who travel to Egypt learn a lot about the pyramids as well as when and why they were built. Exploring the cultures practiced by different communities increases appreciation for human diversity (Mercer, n. d). Traveling allows people to improve their communication skills and create networks that can be beneficial in their lives (Mercer, n. d). Interacting with people who speak different languages and who have different cultures is challenging. However, it is important for the improvement of communication skills. Multicultural interaction is an important skill in the contemporary society especially due to globalization and technological advancements (Mitchell, 2006). Learning to interact with different cultures inculcates strong communication and social skills that are beneficial in personal and professional life (Marks, n. d). On the other hand, it helps to create networks that can be used in different areas of life. For example, travelers can create a business, social, political, and religious networks that can help them to improve their lives, communities, and society at large. The international labor market is open for exploration to everyone around the world. Therefore, possessing strong networks and multicultural communication skills is beneficial and necessary. Traveling exposes people to different living styles. As a result, it inculcates the value of compassion and changes people’s perspectives regarding life (Hasbrouck, 2011). For instance, travelers from developed countries who travel to developing countries get an opportunity to see the effects of poverty, ignorance, and diseases on communities. This makes them grateful for their lives. Also, it enhances the development of compassion and empathy toward the needy and the suffering. Traveling exposes people to new cultures, societies, people, and lifestyles (Mitchell, 2006). This exposure changes people’s perspectives, attitudes, and opinions. They develop new ways of looking at the world, and it also gives their lives meaning.