What are the advantages and disadvantages of public libraries?

It is undeniable that public libraries have a beneficial influence on our lives. However, they still seem to have some weakness. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of this library type. On the one hand, there are numerous merits coming from setting up reading public places. First and foremost, it can make readers pay more attention to their books. In other words, thanks to the quiet atmosphere, and rules such as turning off cell phone notifications, or ring, and keeping silent, individuals are likely to focus on articles, and read longer without any interruption. Hence, it is supposed that knowledge absorption will become more effective. Furthermore, these libraries provide a gigantic number of books, magazines, and articles with a reasonable price. This is because the books are funded from taxes, and other resources, which allows readers to be free or just need to purchase only little amounts of money to use. For instance, in Vietnam, the fee for using the National Library with unlimited information is under 5 dollars per year. On the other hand, these libraries still bring some drawbacks. Firstly, these are likely inconvenient for busy people when compared with other resources of information. To illustrate, in spite of the demand for studies, and academic development, workers lack time to search for, and drive to brick-and-mortar places to read. Thus, following recent interviews, young adults tend to prefer online book collections, which can be used from the comfort of their couch. Besides, this type of knowledge center makes book preservation of officers and librarians much more difficult. Since all of the books are shared and not belonging to any particular person, it is comparatively impossible to know who damaged them. As a result, this issue may lead to the unconsciousness of the public and feeling that they can return torn, or marked pages without any punishment. In summary, although it is beneficial to maintain public libraries, there are still some disadvantages that both authorities and individuals have to concern.