WHAT ARE THE ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF CHILDREN WATCHING TV?

Watching TV is a common form of entertaining for people of all ages. However, nowadays television is widely taking the attention of the youngest people. But what are the benefits and what are the drawbacks of this situation? In this essay, I will discuss both sides and try to draw some conclusions. Let's begin by looking at the advantages children who are expose to these screens because it can boost creativity. It is thought that color and shapes presented on cartoons is vital to inspire them. For instance, Foxtel in Australia possesses a wide variety of TV channels dedicated to littles ones. What I meant by this, is that channels such as Discovery Kids present shows mainly to develop imagination. This can lead to innovation in children's brains. Secondly, by watching TV, youngsters are able to develop cognitive skills. Take children these days for example. Many spend at least 4 hours a day watching TV shows. It allows them acquire valuable information compared to those who lived 50 years ago because television has changed considerably since then. In addition, nowadays, have developed far more concentration. Turning to the other side of the argument, TV might lead to an increase of obesity rates among age group. For instance, children in the past used to do more physical activity than they do today. Furthermore, obesity is linked to anxiety. This can affect confidence and self-esteem in the early ages. Another downside is that watching TV is addictive. Most children would prefer often to be at home rather than playing outdoors with their peers. In other words, the lack of social skills may be caused by this situation. This will impact negatively on their relationships in the long-term when they have to handle real situations. All things considered, TV is an excellent form of enjoyment for children. However, you need to weigh up the pros of expanding creativity and cognitive skills and the cons of deterioration in health conditions and confidence in social environments. Personally, I believe the benefits in terms of brain development far outweigh any negatives.