some customs and traditions in Vietnam

Tet is a time to enjoy the vibrant atmosphere and immerse in the beauty of flowers, but also a time to inhale smoke as well as ashes. Every year, when Tet holiday is around the corner, hundreds of flowers bloom in order to welcome the spring coming to Vietnam. It is also an ideal occasion for families all over the nation to forge family bonds, give their best wishes to each other, embellish their house, and worship their ancestors. Although Tet (Lunar New Year) is the biggest festival in Vietnam, several customs and traditions still have been a burden for the residents, exemplified by joss paper burning. According to statistics of the United Nations in the year 2014, whether they are religious or not, the majority of Vietnamese people taking this common ritual account for more than 70 percent of the population. Vietnamese religion has nuances similar to that of southern China, worshiping gods who are national heroes or gods of nature and ancestors. Votive votives are burned year-round during festivals, but most often during Tet, to express family members' remembrance for the deceased as well as the gods.