What are the advantages and disadvantages? State your opinion.

Technology has taken over every element of our daily life. Some of the things that used to be done in our homes by hands are now being completely done by machines. This essay will discuss the positive and the negative aspects of machines taking over our life at home. Whilst acknowledging that there are drawbacks, the essay will argue that the benefits of technology being used in our houses outweigh the drawbacks and make our life easier. One evident benefit is that different kind of machines have made daily chores easier to perform. From a coffee maker to a foot massager, there is a separate device for every need. For example, washing clothes, drying them on ropes, and eventually folding them perfectly can be done by a washing machine, a dryer and an iron respectively. Another advantage is that all of these technological advancements save a lot of time. In a world, where time is the most sought after entity, these gadgets are a blessing. For instance, the aforementioned coffee maker will make instant coffee for you within a few seconds and save a lot of your morning time. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to using these gadgets. Firstly, people are becoming extremely lazy. Everything they need is within an arm’s reach and hence the element of working hard has gone missing. According to a research conducted by the University of Texas, morbid obesity is the biggest outcome of gadgets being introduced in our daily lives. Secondly, these machines are responsible for children having a poor eye-sight from a young age. For instance, even simple objects like coloring books and story books are now replaced by a tablet which requires the children to glue their eyes to a screen. In conclusion, although poor eye-sight among children and obesity are some disadvantages to the introduction of machines in our houses, the ease with which we can perform all our daily chores and the amount of time it saves are definitely bigger advantages. Hence, in my opinion, the benefits prevail over the drawbacks.