Weddings are more expensive in many countries as compared to other parts of the world. What is the reason for such trend? Is this positive or negative development?

In the past, people believed in simple and low budget weddings; however, nowadays, many people are opting for extravagant weddings. Looking at this trend, one must analyse the reasons for expensive weddings and its consequence on society. There are multiple explanations for high-priced weddings in many countries. Firstly, the global economies have highly prospered, which has made people financially sound. Due to improved financial status, people like to spend more on auspicious occasions like weddings. For example, my wealthy neighbour spent lakhs of rupees on his marriage ceremony. Secondly, there are new costly "extras" introduced in the wedding party which were not considered in the past. These "extras" would include decorations, lightings, cake, function managers, rich buffet, which increases the expenditure of weddings. This rise in the cost of weddings has led to many negative consequences. Couples waste money unnecessarily as a result of the lavish wedding trend, resulting in either no future savings or debt. One of my friends spent a significant amount of money on his wedding, resulting in the loss of his savings that would have helped him in the future. Moreover, there is a huge demand for the wedding accessories, which in turn results in their increased prize, thusly it becomes over budget for those who want to make simple wedding. In conclusion, the main causes of expensive weddings are people's better financial standing and the inclusion of new pricey "extras" to the marriage ceremony. If this trend continues, couples getting married will spend all of their savings on their wedding, and the high expenses of wedding accessories would put the wedding out of reach for the middle class.